At a glance
Essentials
Dayton requires every alarm user to register with the Police Department and lists a one-time $10 alarm-user fee.
Published user fee: $10 one time.
Published renewal: Not specified.
Charges begin with the third false alarm in a rolling 12-month period at $50 and rise through $250; a seventh false alarm can trigger a disconnect order.
Residential alarm user
How to register
Use the official source or contact the city before activating a system. The published process is police packet by phone or in person.
Emergency response
False-alarm rules
Charges begin with the third false alarm in a rolling 12-month period at $50 and rise through $250; a seventh false alarm can trigger a disconnect order.
Coverage note
Fire-alarm information
Dayton’s alarm-user ordinance excludes fire, medical-emergency and vehicle alarm systems; confirm fire-system requirements separately.
Official information
Sources, scope and local contact
Check these government pages before you register, pay a fee or rely on the fine schedule.
This page summarizes the official material linked below. It distinguishes an alarm-user permit from alarm-company licensing, fire-system installation permits and penalties for repeated false alarms.
How we handle uncertainty: If an official source does not say something clearly, we label it “not specified” rather than assume.
Local rules and web pages can change. This review date tells you when the source links and summary were last checked.
AlarmSystemPermit.com is an independent educational resource and is not affiliated with any government agency. Requirements can change, and online information may be incomplete or outdated. Always check current requirements with the appropriate local office.
Submit a correction or request an update →